It Is Finished

I sit here in reflection of the days I felt fear. When I had to fight everything, with an enemy of my choosing. When I fought with the enemy who was inside my own head. When I needed a tangible and physical reason for the way I felt or what was going on. The loneliness, the anger and the need to control every situation. When I looked out at the people around me and saw conflict and strife. When I saw them all to be untrustworthy and against me.
Last night, at church service, as Pastor talked of the finished works of our King and it reminded of those days. It reminded me not in a bad way, but in a good one. It confirmed what God has been showing me, that I need not worry, my need to battle is over. For when Jesus spoke those words, “it is finished” it was! My eyes were opened once again to this fact! It says so in the Word, God’s Word. I need not fight an enemy, not one has power over He who created the earth. If I rest in His Words, the why do I choose to fight? If I believe what He says, then what is there to battle? If I always turn to Him and rest in His arms, in His comfort and in His glory, then I have no reason to work so hard to defeat the already defeated!
The next time you feel attacked, you feel like you must fight, when your thoughts turn to an enemy… I urge you to speak these words before you say anything else, “It is finished”. Thank you a Jesus!

Leave a comment